About Us

The Woman’s Exchange is one of the longest-running non-profits in Memphis. Our Mission is not about hand-outs. It’s about “helping others to help themselves.”

The Woman’s Exchange began in a time when single women had essentially no options to earn a decent living. To this day, we provide a way for seamstresses, crafters, artisans, and consignors to provide for their families. The Woman’s Exchange movement began in Philadelphia in 1832 as an effort to help women gain financial security by providing an opportunity to sell their handiwork on consignment in a retail environment.

The Woman’s Exchange in Memphis was founded in 1885 and newspaper accounts published in 1885-1900 commend its value to the community. Today, the Exchange continues the tradition of  ”helping others to help themselves”  by showing and selling the handiwork of hundreds of local consignors and employing highly skilled local seamstresses to make the signature infant and children’s clothing for which the Woman’s Exchange has become famous.

The Woman’s Exchange operates with a 96% volunteer staff of over 250 members. We welcome women of the community to join our organization, which is one of Memphis’ longest continually operating non-profits. Please feel free to call or email for information about our volunteer opportunities.

Our People

Shop Manager
Dee Dee Laughlin

Kitchen Manager
Chef Rev Bailey

Sewing Room Manager
Sandy Moore

Dena Ward

Lauren Gibson


President – Marcia Anthony
Vice President — Advisory Council (Hackett, Hardeman, A.Holzemer, Kiersky, Llewellyn)
Past President/Advisor/Nominations Chair – Anne Holzemer
Finance Chair — Denise LaChina
Treasurer – Susan Colwell
Assistant Treasurer – Africa McCloy
Recording Secretary – Barbara Snyder
Corresponding Secretary/Communications Chair – Lauren Lerner
Parliamentarian – Lola Llewellyn
Shop Placement Chair — Yvonne Kiersky
Tearoom Placement Chair – Marilyn Barbee
Art Gallery Chair – Susan Johnson & Susan Adler Thorp
Book Signings – Sandy Hackett
Christmas Shop Co-Chairs – Barbara McKinnon & ….
Club Events Chair – Anne Piper
English Tea Chair –  Lana Owens & Barbara McKinnon
Federation Liaison – Laurie Moneypeny
Grounds Chair – Jana Pulley
Hospitality Chair – Debbie Florendo
Mailings/Yearbook – Jean Lewis
Outreach – Cava Sittnick
Pop Up Shops –
Publicity Chair – Julie Ray
WE Consign — Kelly Cunningham